Maybe it’s the anticipation.  The not knowing what will happen.  Perhaps it’s the pulse boosting curiosity of what will happen next.  Whatever the reason, I’ve always been a fan of eves.

Sometimes the eve is better than the actual day.  There is so much promise and unknowns during an eve of a big event.  Will you get that prized gift you want on Christmas or your birthday?  Will you be in the same classes as your best friend or secret crush?  Yes, many of our eves revolve around our crushes when we’re young.  On the eve of the big dance will your favorite girl let you slow dance with her?  When you get older, will that same girl say yes?  Eves can also be soul crushing.  They can create hopes and dreams in our feeble minds that are dashed as quickly as we conjured them up.  It’s natures way of letting us know who’s the boss.

Our anticipation of the soon to be or soon to happen changes throughout the years.  As a child, you can barely keep your eyes closed and your mind shut off long enough to fall asleep on Christmas Eve.  The angst is palapable.  And let’s not even touch the eve before the first day of the school year.  Alas, that eve seems to go much too quickly.  As we age these anticipations and the worries about these eves for these days change.

Thanksgiving Eve is notorious for being the event of the year for any 20 or 30 year old back home.  Even if you don’t drink, you do that night.  New Year’s Eve has nothing on Thanksgiving Eve in the sleepy suburbs of Boston.  From far and wide, people seem to creep out from every nook and cranny of the South Shore (south of Boston for those of you from out of town).  It’s not uncommon to see your ex girlfriend from high school trotting out her wealthy banker husband or some other schmuck you know you could beat in an arm wrestling match.  It’s actually worse when you don’t run into an ex flame or other acquaintance.

For some unnerving reason, on Thanksgiving Eve the goal seems to be to go to as many bars as possible as though you are in some advanced state of  alcoholic fueled A.D.D.  Or, maybe you just can’t stand to look at the bartender even one more second.  It is just short of bizarre how people feel the desire to switch locations while drinking, as though the beer will surely taste better at the pub down the street.  Usually, it has more to do with the lack of “opportunities” at one location.  But, I digress.

Of course, the quintessential eve has to be Christmas Eve. You know, the nights that seem to take about a week and a half to pass by when you’re 10.  The excited, unadulterated joy and maybe a little fear assault your senses.  Were you good enough this year?  I remember lying in bed, about as tired as a drugged out meth addict on a sugar high.  Of course, your worries about whether you’ll get the new G.I. Joe (hey I’m a child of the 80s), pale in comparison to the thoughts of anticipation that keep us wired in our older years.

I still miss the nervous, naive hopes and dreams of those eves of long ago.

17 thoughts on “Eves

  1. Fun post! No naive hopes or dreams for you this eve? Not even just a little? Anticipation is one of my most favorite emotions! : )
    Merry Christmas Eve!

  2. Sorry I meant my hopes and dreams are similar to my hopes and dreams from my youth: that my family and friends are happy and healthy, prosperity and finding my true love.

  3. Those are beautifully simple hopes for an eve. I hope your wish is granted. Perhaps your true love is wishing the same, and that it finds you.
    Merry Christmas. : )

  4. I am an Eve’s person too. Eve’s are magical! My whole family is a bunch of Eve’ers. We will take special days and start celebrating on the eve, eve, eve, eve, eve, eve, eve. πŸ™‚ One of the things I miss most about my mom after she passed was that nobody called to wish me Happy Birthday Eve anymore. Love this post. What a wonderful topic to write about.

  5. Thank you! What a thoughtful comment! I can relate to your comment. Christmas eve was big with us when my father and uncle were alive. We used to celebrate Christmas even at each other’s house and I had a blast with my cousins. We lost touch as we got older and after my dad passed it just never was the same. It’s still a special time, though.

  6. Anticipation really is its own reward. I find the eve of reaching a destination to be magical too. All that dreaming about what the unknown place will look and taste and feel like…. Wishing you a very wonderful New Year with many more eves to look forward to.

  7. I completely agree – Eves are the calm before the storm…. and then the actual day is when everything feels a bit flatter (in my opinion anyway) I love Christmas Day, and New Years Day, because I can chill with a book or my camera – but the Eves are the warm and fuzzy days, the anticipation like you say. Beautiful tree!

  8. Yes, I think what is so appealing about Christmas Eve is that we get to feel like kids again for one night of the year. thank you! I saw that tree while I was walking through Boston taking in the Christmas decorations.

  9. In India we do not celebrate eves as such, but we have a lot of other cultural opportunities for it, so this post made me wonder about our universal need to celebrate and connect with each other through various occasions..

  10. That is a very thoughtful comment. I do think we have a desire to connect with others and celebrate with loved ones. It seems like we just want a reason to spend special moments with others. Thank you!

  11. You’re right. It’s the eves that are turbulent with emotions and hopes. Almost heady. I believe it is the time when we are the most alive.

Leave a comment